History

Monochrom_1 Monochrom_6 Monochrom_5
Monochrom_3

 

On 3 August 1939 - Minister of Foreign Affairs of the III Reich I. Von Ribbentrop and Soviet Premier V.M. Molotov sign the pact of non-aggression for a period of ten years, and the secret additional protocol, under which the Soviet Union and Germany divided the spheres of influence in Eastern Europe. Directly to the Republic of Poland concerns the second point of the protocol, prejudging its partition.

On 1 September 1939 Nazi Germany attacked Poland.

On 17 September 1939 - USSR unleashes war against Poland. As a result, 25,700 Poles, the Polish Army officers, policemen and civil servants of the Republic of Poland are captured and contained in three camps in the USSR.

On 5 March 1940 - head of the NKVD, L.P. Beria submits to Stalin, the head of the Soviet state the memorandum with the proposal of the so-called "unloading of camps ". The term "unloading" meant the physical destruction of people. As the place of execution of the Kozelsky camp prisoners was elected the forest in the hole "Goats` mountains " near Smolensk. Approximately 22 thousands of Polish prisoners disappear in the vast country.

1941 - Germany occupies the Smolensk region.

On 30 July 1941 - Between the Soviet government and the Polish Government in Exile (which was in London) an agreement was concluded to nullify the Soviet-German treaties 1939.

On 12August 1941 - USSR Supreme Soviet Presidium publishes a decree on granting amnesty to Polish citizens in detention or in special settlement, followed by the Soviet-Polish military agreement on August 14, 1941 on the organization of Polish army on Soviet territory.

Autumn of 1941 – spring of 1942 - Polish officials repeatedly refer to the Soviet authorities with the inquiries about the fate of the captured officers, who did not arrive to the places of forming the army. The Soviets replied that there is no information about them.

In 1943 - German radio announces the discovery in Katyn near the city of Smolensk 11 000 graves of Polish officers. The Polish Government appeals to the International Red Cross with the request for exhumation works.

On 29 March 1943 - the excavations of graves begin in the Katyn forest, it is organized by the Germans. Directs the exhumation Gerhard Butz - Professor of Wroclaw University. The main work on the study carried out by experts of the Polish Red Cross and the Polish Technical Commission. Eight graves are found, seven of them are at a small distance from each other, the eighth - a distance of about 200 meters south from the rest.

1944 - In Katyn works a special commission headed by Academician N.N. Burdenko. According to Soviet experts, the Polish officers were shot in autumn 1941 by the Germans.

On 13 April 1990 - TASS news agency published official statement about the "direct responsibility for atrocities committed in the Katyn forest of Beria, Merkulov and their henchmen," and the atrocities qualify in it as one of "the most serious crimes of Stalinism." At the same time Soviet President M.S.Gorbachev sends to the President of Poland W. Jaruzelski the list of shot Polish war prisoners.

On 14 October 1992 - according to the order of the President B.N. Yeltsin the documents implicating leadership of the USSR in committing the "Katyn massacre" were released and transferred to Poland.

1994 - in Katyn starts to work a group of Polish experts headed by Professor from the Institute of Archeology and Ethnography Marian Glosek. Experts determine the location of the "pits of death" refine the boundaries of graves, the number of shot officers, and carry out work on identifying the remains. Also there was found a large number of instruments that will complement the picture of the Katyn tragedy.

On 19 October 1996 - the Government of the Russian Federation issued the decree "On creation of the memorial complexes in the places of the mass graves of Soviet and Polish citizens - victims of totalitarian repression - Katyn (Smolensk) and Mednoye (Tver)", so that it becomes possible to build memorials.

October 1996 - the project of sculptors Z. Pidak, A. Solyga, W. J. Synakevich was chosen for the accomplishment of the Polish territory of the war cemetery.

3 March1998 in a closed competition to design the Russian part of the memorial complexes at Katyn and Mednoye, the jury recognized the winner of the project - a creative workshop № 4 MD Khazanov.

May 1999 - June 2000. - the construction of the Memorial.

On 28 July 2000 - the memorial complex "Katyn" opens. In the solemn ceremony the Polish side is represented by the chairman of the Council of Ministers Jerzy Buzyk, Russian - the First Deputy Prime Minister Viktor Khristenko.

On 30 October 2007 - takes place the presentation of Museum reconstruction " GULAG on wheels."

On 28 July 2008 - on the territory of the Memorial "Katyn" opens Museum and Exhibition Center.

July 28, 2009 - the ritual consecration of the stone in the "Valley of Death" is performed.

История

Monochrom_1 Monochrom_6 Monochrom_5
Monochrom_3

23 августа 1939 г. – министр иностранных дел III рейха И. Фон Риббентроп и глава советского правительства В.М. Молотов подписывают пакт о ненападении сроком на десять лет, а также секретный дополнительный протокол, в соответствии с которым Советский Союз и Германия делят сферы влияния в Восточной Европе. Непосредственно Республики Польша касается второй пункт данного протокола, предрешавший её раздел.

1 сентября 1939 г. – Нацистская Германия нападает на Польшу.

17 сентября 1939 г. – СССР развязывает войну с Польшей. В результате 25700 поляков, офицеров Польской Армии, полицейских и государственных служащих Республики Польша попадают в плен и содержатся в трех лагерях на территории СССР.

5 марта 1940 г. – глава НКВД Л.П. Берия представляет главе Советского государства Сталину докладную записку с предложением о так называемой "разгрузке" лагерей. Под "разгрузкой" подразумевалось физическое уничтожение людей. Местом казни узников Козельского лагеря избран лес в урочище "Козьи Горы" под Смоленском. Около 22 тысяч пленных поляков бесследно исчезают в огромной стране.

1941 г. – Германия оккупирует Смоленскую область.

30 июля 1941 г. – Между советским правительством и польским правительством в изгнании (пребывавшим в Лондоне) было заключено соглашение о признании недействительными советско–германских договоров 1939 г.

12 августа 1941 г. – Президиум Верховного Совета СССР публикует Указ о предоставлении амнистии польским гражданам, находящимся в заключении или на спецпоселении, за которым следует советско–польское военное соглашение от 14 августа 1941 г. об организации польской армии на территории СССР.

осень 1941 г. – весна 1942 г. – Польские официальные лица неоднократно обращаются к советским властям с запросами о судьбе пленных офицеров, неприбывших к местам формирования армии. Советская сторона отвечает, что сведений о них нет.

1943 г. – Германское радио сообщает об обнаружении в Ка́тыни под Смоленском могил 11 тысяч польских офицеров. Правительство Польши обращается к Международному Красному Кресту с просьбой о проведении эксгумационных работ.

29 марта 1943 г. – Начинаются раскопки могил в Ка́тынском лесу, организованные немцами. Руководит эксгумацией Герхард Бутц – профессор Вроцлавского университета. Основную работу по исследованию осуществляют специалисты Польского Красного Креста и Польской технической комиссии. Обнаружены восемь могил: семь из них находятся на небольшом расстоянии друг от друга, восьмая – на расстоянии около 200 метров к югу от остальных.

1944 г. – В Катыни работает специальная комиссия во главе с академиком Н.Н. Бурденко. По мнению советских специалистов, польские офицеры были расстреляны осенью 1941 года, т.е. немцами.

13 апреля 1990 г. – Опубликовано официальное заявление ТАСС о "непосредственной ответственности за злодеяния в Катынском лесу Берии, Меркулова и их подручных", а сами злодеяния квалифицируются в нем как одно из "тяжких преступлений сталинизма". Тогда же президент СССР М.С. Горбачев передает президенту Польши В. Ярузельскому списки расстрелянных польских военнопленных.

14 октября 1992 г. – По распоряжению президента Б.Н. Ельцина обнародованы и переданы Польше документы, изобличающие руководство СССР в совершении "Катынского преступления".

1994 г. – В Катыни начинает работу группа польских экспертов во главе с профессором Института археологии и этнографии Марьяном Глосеком. Специалисты устанавливают места нахождения "рвов смерти", уточняют границы захоронений, количество расстрелянных офицеров, проводят работы по идентификации останков. Также обнаружено большое количество документов, позволяющих дополнить картину Катынской трагедии.

19 октябрь 1996 г. – Правительство Российской Федерации издает постановление "О создании мемориальных комплексов в местах массовых захоронений советских и польских граждан – жертв тоталитарных репрессий – Катынь (Смоленск) и Медное (Тверь)", благодаря чему становится возможным строительство мемориалов.

октябрь 1996 г. – Проект скульпторов З. Пидака, А. Солыги, В. И Я. Сынакевичей выбран для благоустройства польской территории кладбища.

3 марта 1998 г. – Жюри закрытого конкурса на лучший проект российской части мемориальных комплексов в Катыни и Медном признает победителем проект творческой мастерской №4 М.Д. Хазанова.

май 1999 – июнь 2000 гг. – Ведется строительство Мемориала.

28 июля 2000 г. – Открывается мемориальный комплекс "Катынь". На торжественной церемонии польскую сторону представляет председатель Совета министров РП Ежи Бузык, российскую – первый заместитель Председателя правительства РФ Виктор Христенко.

30 октября 2007 г. – Проходит презентация музейной реконструкции “ГУЛАГ на колесах”.

28 июля 2008 г. – На территории Мемориала "Катынь" открывается Музейно-выставочный центр.

28 июля 2009 г. – Совершается обряд освящения камня в “Долине смерти”.